18 Comments

My realisation is the same as it's always been. We the ordinary people need to start looking out for each other, building each other up.

Expand full comment
author

I love this. This year I recognised the deep, untouched need for community, and the care within, which is life-changing xxx

Expand full comment

I realized the power of language, humility can teach us, and that filling my cup often means rest, community, and vulnerability.

Also, I need to call my grandmother more often and remember to drink water. I'm not sure if these are strange or strong realizations, but they are important. :)

Expand full comment
author

Very. They all sound so intuitive and needed x

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2023Liked by Yrsa Daley-Ward

Sorry to reply to each one of these but they’re always thought provoking. Almost like journaling. I came to the realization that I can create my reality. No fact is fact alone, and what I think about myself and the world around me will determine how I feel. It’s more complex than I had ever imagined.

Expand full comment
author

Love your replies. And this is a huge one xxx

Expand full comment

♥️

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2023Liked by Yrsa Daley-Ward

Also: after 27 years, I can still change my brain. Neuroplasticity is a beautiful thing. And lastly, you shouldn’t charge your phone overnight. Take it out as soon as it’s fully charged. :)

Expand full comment
author

I didn't know about the phone thing! And yes to the consistent rewiring of the brain!

Expand full comment
Dec 30, 2023Liked by Yrsa Daley-Ward

a. that my targets are always moving and I need to slow down. b. I’m giving 110 on things that need to be done but could do with half the energy. c. your 11! (:

Expand full comment
author

This is a huge one for me!!!! I feel you and I understand!!

Expand full comment

Ditto! I feel this too!

Expand full comment

It has felt really hard to remember anything else that I have learned this year other than what's happened in the last 3 months. And as scary as these last 3 months have been I have known exactly my best strengths needed for the revolution, put them into practice and helping others to hone theirs. It's been 10 years in the making.

Prior to that... I realised so similarly to your last post that I know all of things that work that will make me feel better and I also realised really strongly that they might have only worked like that for the time that I needed them in the past. When we go through further times of needing things, new things will be needed more or the same things but in different ways, frequencies, intensities. That was massive for me!!

Expand full comment
Dec 31, 2023Liked by Yrsa Daley-Ward

This year i was humbled in many ways, death being the most prevalent of them all. I am seeing death in a new light, hopefully one that leads me to my own personal inspiration. In general still reflecting on how we as people and as a human race will always be being ripped apart as long as we deny what is truth.

The truth rarely looks like one thing.

Expand full comment

I have still been putting the power outside myself. It's time to remember who the fuck I am and trust myself and my OWN power completely.

Expand full comment

My realization is that do what you have to do when you can, tomorrow isn’t promised. Life is filled with so many uncertainties. Also, great things takes time.

Expand full comment

Even though things go to shit; they can be made better again. Control what you can control.

Expand full comment

I cannot do long distance relationships. When my mother took me from my father as a 1.5 year old she removed me from the constant stable attachment/connection/parent that she isn’t capable of. Being in long distance relationships recreates this pre verbal loss for me with its closeness followed by loss/ closeness followed by loss. I’ve had several LD things before but this person and I had such a profound and stable closeness that the diminutive connection when we were apart just rattled me to the proverbial bones. I couldn’t keep myself together. And so we are now over which I’m still grieving but I reclaimed this 1.5 year old me that can’t say the words but feels absolutely bereft.

Expand full comment