the utter
the utter
night-reading
4
Preview
0:00
-0:34

night-reading

on this rainy Wednesday night
4

POEMS

YOU ARE A FOUR LETTER WORD


No one will ever convince me that houses are not alive. 
Your house always looked like it was smiling. 
Your bedroom would often try to kill me. 
I will tell them your name. No. I won't tell them your name. 
It doesn't matter now anyway, or you matter too much. 
I am still taking your phone calls and wondering why. 
I tell my friends that I don't think of you. I really want to mean it. 
You have a dog and a wife with a kid and two cars and a garden.
You call me to tell me you love me when everyone's sleeping. 
You are a four-letter word and you're not to be trusted. 
I still want you, or I still want to win. I wish we'd never met.



YOU’D BETTER WATCH WHAT YOU ARE SAYING
THE THINGS THAT YOU ARE SAYING ARE CHANGING YOUR LIFE.
THE THINGS THAT YOU ARE SAYING ARE BIRTHING THINGS
AND RAISING THINGS
AND KILLING THINGS DEAD.
THEY MAKE LARGE THINGS OUT OF SMALL THINGS,
DANGER OUT OF THE UNKNOWN,
MOVEMENT OUT OF DORMANT, 
RESTING POTENTIAL. 
THIS IS HOW YOU BUILD YOUR HOUSE
AND THIS IS HOW THE HOUSE FORMS, 
THRIVING OR STRUGGLING.
ACCORDING TO LANGUAGE.


LOVERS AND OTHER PROBLEMS

It was almost summer. I saw you and I thought
you were the perfect medicine. I thought you’d help me live.
We nearly killed each other trying. Or,
we nearly killed ourselves trying. Of course it didn’t work.
When you are this mad about a thing, it has to leave you. 
You have to be shown how much you need yourself, instead.
There were good things, too, you always say.
Things we miss each time that we review this.
You, after our tenth misunderstanding
wordlessly ironing my trousers. Me so caught up with thoughts of you
I could never really eat. After the fight in Santa Monica
we fell asleep blind drunk, holding hands like baby dolls.
But were those good things? They were badly done, but they felt just right.
The last time I came to you, I was hoping for something new. 
I boarded a plane and I prayed for the most. 
You were not there. Then I was not there.
We have always been mirrors of each other’s best
and most horrible work. I can’t come back from the things that were felt,
but I love you. Someone else will love you more. 




IT’S LIKE THAT

Friend, you have misunderstood me
and likely I have misunderstood you.
There is too much smoke here from long ago
that we carried with us. Our air is old here.
Hot. Wet-thick with dust. We could have
been clearer with one another if there had
been trust. But staying was harder. 
(We weren't taught to stay.) So go we must.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to the utter to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

the utter
the utter
I tell stories. Some tall, some dark.