the utter
the utter
modern romance
19
0:00
-2:11

modern romance

a night read
19
hallway near the building at night

I’ve already forgotten

your beat-up fingers,

your peppercorns,

the ice in your eye

 the way that you move

like a warning,

I think.  

Anyway. It was that time

against the backdrop of trees

the russet sky,

the houses built like half promises on rocks

when I started to get wise.

                                            There was drama

going on, inland.  A thin sliver of moon

wet oil on the ground,

white flowers in June.  

Your phone rang.                         You looked at it

                                                    and then at me. There was a shadow around

your head. I felt the thing we try not to feel.

It is a difficult time

for loving. Apparently, anything goes.

No one is allowed to dissolve

in public. We rent each other’s beds

for weeks and weeks and weeks

with nothing to show for it at the very end

but dirt underneath our nails.

I am still gasping, even today

for one I treated poorly.

They told me they

wished me

all the best

in the softest, most devastating way.

19 Comments
the utter
the utter
I tell stories. Some tall, some dark.